In October of 2017,  the Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts (RULONA) went into effect.

The law amended Pennsylvania’s notary public education, testing, and appointment process.

To simplify these changes, we have outlined the 7 simple steps that you need to know to become a commissioned notary.

1. MEET QUALIFICATIONS

Before applying to become a notary you have to meet the following qualifications:

  • Be At Least 18 Years of Age
  • Be a US Citizen or Permanent Legal Resident
  • Possess The Ability To Read and Write in English
  • Be of Good Moral Character (Not Convicted of a Felony) 
  • Be a PA Resident or Maintain a Practice or Place of Employment in the State

2. COMPLETE A COURSE

If you meet the State’s notary public qualifications your next step will be to complete an education course.

New and renewing notaries must complete an approved 3-hour basic education course. 

Courses such as the one provided by thepanotary.com are designed to ensure that you understand the duties and responsibilities of the office of notary public and the various types of notarial acts that you will be authorized to perform such as: administering oaths and affirmations, affidavits and certifying copies. 

 

3. SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION 

After completing an approved basic education course, your next step is to submit an application to the Department of State.

The Department accepts applications online at:notaries.pa.gov

You will have to pay a non-refundable application fee of $42 and upload a copy of your signed course completion certificate.

 

4. PASS THE EXAM

After your application is approved the Department will permit you to take the State’s official notary exam.

If you are renewing an existing notary commission you will not have to take the exam.

However, if you are a new notary you will have to register for the exam with Pearson. Pearson is a test proctor will many locations throughout the Sate.

If you do not pass on the first try you can retake the test as many times as you need to for up to six months.

However, each time you schedule the exam you will have to pay a non-refundable fee of $65 again.

 

READ  REAL ID Is Now Available In Pennsylvania

After passing the exam you will receive a ‘Notice of Appointment‘ email from the state. 

It’s important to be aware that an appointment and a commission are not the same.

An appointment is similar to a job offer. It’s an invitation to become a notary public.

However, there are just a few more steps you will need to complete to become a commissioned.

 

5. GET BONDED

All PA Notaries are required to maintain a $10,000 surety bond.

The average cost of the bond is $50. The bond is a financial safety net for the State.

If you violate the law and cause financial harm to an individual or entity such as church or business, the state could use your bond to provide financial compensation to the aggrieved party. 

 

6. TAKE AN OATH OF OFFICE  

Once you have your bond the next step is to be sworn into office.

This will not be as ceremonial as a presidential swearing in, but you will raise your right hand with a representative at the Recorder of Deeds office in the County where you maintain a business or work address. You will take an oath agreeing to uphold the duties and responsibilities of the office of notary public.

 

7. RECORD YOUR OFFICIAL SIGNATURE

Last but not least, your official signature will need to be filed in the Prothonotary’s office. 

A Prothonotary is a County’s official record keeper. The office will keep a record of your signature on file.

Once your signature is filed you will be a commissioned notary public for a term of 4 years.